A Last Kiss for Mummy

A Last Kiss for Mummy

Author: Casey Watson

Publisher: HarperElement

ISBN: 0007510705

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 274

View: 422

Bestselling author and foster carer Casey Watson tells the heartbreaking true story of a teenage mother and baby in need of a safe and loving home. At fourteen, Emma is just a child herself and one who s never been properly mothered. She has been in foster care several times already and when she discovered she was pregnant, and refused to have an abortion, her mother threw her out of the house. Casey and her family instantly form a strong bond with Emma s baby Roman, but dealing with Emma s behaviour and constant lack of responsibility is a far tougher challenge. And before long Casey finds she s doing something she never thought she would covering up for Emma s shortcomings as she allows her personal involvement to colour her judgement. But the more Casey gets to know Emma the more she s convinced that with the right help and guidance this lonely and unsupported girl can become a good mother to her gorgeous little boy. That s what makes it even harder when Casey and her family have to make a stark choice: to hold on to Emma or look after Roman; to help a teenage girl desperate to turn her life around, or offer an innocent baby a safe home and much-needed good start in life."

The Last Kiss Goodbye

The Last Kiss Goodbye

Author: Tasmina Perry

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9781472208439

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 946

Everyone remembers their first kiss. But what about the last? The Last Kiss Goodbye is a spellbinding tale of love, loss and long-buried secrets from the author of the bestselling The Pool House, Tasmina Perry. Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes' The Last Letter from Your Lover. 'Romance, adventure, mystery... (a) beautifully written and engaging tale' - Heat 1961. Journalist Rosamund Bailey is ready to change the world. When she meets explorer and man-about-town Dominic Blake, she realises she has found the love of her life. Just as happiness is in their grasp, the worst happens, and their future is snatched away. 2014. Deep in the vaults of a museum, archivist Abby Gordon stumbles upon a breathtaking find. A faded photograph of a man saying goodbye to the woman he loves. Looking for a way to escape her own heartache, Abby becomes obsessed with the story, little realising that behind the image frozen in time lies a secret altogether more extraordinary. What readers are saying about The Last Kiss Goodbye: 'I loved this story, so much. It was engaging and beautiful, and I couldn't put it down' 'A novel full of mystery, intrigue and suspense on one hand, and romance, passion, despair and hope on the other' 'Sometimes a book will come along and completely sweep you away; it will suck you up into its world and there is no turning back. Tasmina Perry's The Last Kiss Goodbye was such a book'

The Boy No One Loved: Free Sampler

The Boy No One Loved: Free Sampler

Author: Casey Watson

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 9780008147860

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 50

View: 438

Discover the incredible memoirs of internationally bestselling author Casey Watson with this free extended eBook sampler of Casey’s first book, and Sunday Times bestseller, The Boy No One Loved.

Blessings of the Father

Blessings of the Father

Author: Mitch Reed

Publisher: MITCH [email protected]

ISBN: 9780595360567

Category: Fiction

Page: 392

View: 696

In 1979, fifteen-year-old Marcus Morgan leaves Los Angeles on a European performance tour with his school choir.There he meets the girl of his dreams, Miranda Richards representing England... naturally the fall hopelessly in love. Somehow, they keep their long-distance relationship alive throughout a separation spanning 7000 miles, eight years and two diametrically opposed worlds. As soul mates; they marry, yet soon become star-crossed and doomed. By 1999, we find that Mac is America's leading Restaurateur. Long since separated from his wife Miranda who remains behind in England, his world is about to be turned upside down. It all begins with the receipt of a cryptic telegram from his father-in-law, calling him back to Britain. He must come face-to-face with his past, his 'present', and his future... what awaits Marcus in England? Ties That Bind is the first book in the series of six, of Blessings of the Father, Marcus' incredible transformation from one day to the next. If you fear death, this book will change your life! I found Blessings of the Father to be great read Craig Reade, cxPulp.com Come Meet a Family You Won't Regret Falling in Love With ... BookTalk.org on Facebook 10.16.10 A brilliant first effort thanks to Reed's vibrant characters, a true page-turner. Brant Russell, Writesavers.com

Whisper My Secret

Whisper My Secret

Author: JB Rowley

Publisher: JB Rowley

ISBN: 9781499720068

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 295

View: 857

#1 BEST SELLER IN ADOPTION! “Can you keep a secret? Can you keep a secret? I don’t suppose you can. You mustn’t laugh; you mustn’t smile, but... do the best you can.” How does a mother cope when she is forced to walk away from her three children and never see them again? That is what happened to JB’s mother, Myrtle. Eventually, rescued from her despair by tall, dark and handsome George Rowley who fell in love her, Myrtle started a new life and had seven more children. She buried the grief of losing her first children deep within and kept her pain secret. JB and her siblings were unaware of the existence of Myrtle’s first three children until after she died. Desperate to know how such a thing could happen to a devoted and caring mother, JB went on a journey to find out. What she discovered was a heartbreaking story of loss. It was a long time before JB was able to work out that her mother kept her early life and her first family secret out of misplaced guilt and shame. To redress that, JB decided to tell the whole world her mother’s secret. Whisper My Secret is a proud declaration that Myrtle did nothing deserving of guilt or shame.

Crushed for Fragrance

Crushed for Fragrance

Author: Margaret Newnes

Publisher: Xulon Press

ISBN: 9781604774351

Category: Religion

Page: 288

View: 540

The author's inspirational story of early widowhood, the struggles of raising three small children alone, and medical challenges demonstrate that in spite of her many crushings, she spreads the fragrance of Christ wherever she goes. (Christian)

The Betrothal

The Betrothal

Author: Maurice Maeterlinck

Publisher: Good Press

ISBN: EAN:4064066189679

Category: Drama

Page: 141

View: 796

"The Betrothal" by Maurice Maeterlinck (translated by Alexander Teixeira de Mattos). Published by Good Press. Good Press publishes a wide range of titles that encompasses every genre. From well-known classics & literary fiction and non-fiction to forgotten−or yet undiscovered gems−of world literature, we issue the books that need to be read. Each Good Press edition has been meticulously edited and formatted to boost readability for all e-readers and devices. Our goal is to produce eBooks that are user-friendly and accessible to everyone in a high-quality digital format.

Kill or Die

Kill or Die

Author: Ann Evans

Publisher: Open Road Media

ISBN: 9781913682033

Category: Fiction

Page: 202

View: 963

A wife flees her own home—and finds herself trapped in another as a hostage—in this gripping story of fate, family, and murder… In one house, a burglary goes horribly wrong as an elderly victim is killed and one of the perpetrators is injured. In the detached house next door, Julia is preparing to leave her husband. He has let her down for the last time and her bags are packed. Taking their eight-year-old daughter, Lucy, from her bed, she sets off in the fog. But on this cold, dark night, fate steps in and these strangers collide. When the criminals abduct the mother and daughter and take them to a derelict house, the situation takes a grave turn. Meanwhile, Julia's husband is distraught that his wife and daughter have left—and becomes a suspect when the murder next door is discovered. This family of three is about to step into a nightmare. And Julia may be faced with the ultimate choice: kill or die…

Little Owl's Bedtime

Little Owl's Bedtime

Author: Debi Gliori

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 9781526630124

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 32

View: 925

Little Owl doesn't want to go to bed . . . His pillow is too lumpy, his quilt is too hot and what is that strange snorting noise he can hear? Perhaps one last bedtime story will help or maybe, just maybe, Mummy Owl has an ingenious way to soothe her restless Little Owl and help him get a good night's sleep . . . From the creators of LITTLE OWL'S EGG and LITTLE OWL'S FIRST DAY comes another irresistible story that is perfectly reassuring for all wakeful little night owls. A special edition where the words and pictures take you on a journey far beyond the page. This audio-enabled eBook comes with a gorgeous reading by Sarah Ovens, along with music and sound effects.

The Mummy's Curse

The Mummy's Curse

Author: K.C. Adams

Publisher: Kristina Adams

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 616

One curse. Three victims. A race against time. Edie My boyfriend is in a coma. And all we know is that there’s dark magic behind it. If we don’t figure out how to break him out, he could be comatose forever. Could the cursed Ancient Egyptian mummy who just woke up be the key to his freedom? Niamh I need to break the curse, but I also need to pay the bills. I’m pretty sure they won't accept ‘my best friend has been cursed’ as an excuse to default on the mortgage. Working on a building site isn’t my favourite thing to do, but it’s easy money. Or at least, I thought it was. Until I walked head-first into a poltergeist. I’ve avoided poltergeists for a decade. Ever since one killed my first husband. But with families moving in and no one else to exorcise the poltergeist, will what little power I have be enough to take him down? Will Niamh and Edie break the curse? Can their 4,000 year old friend help? Find out in the second instalment of the mother/daughter paranormal mystery series, Afterlife Calls.

Rest in Peace

Rest in Peace

Author: Gary Laderman

Publisher: Oxford University Press, USA

ISBN: 9780195183559

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 296

View: 780

Gary Laderman traces the origins of American funeral rituals, & looks at the increasing subordination of religious figures to the funeral director in the late 20th century, demonstrating that the modern director is very far from Mitford's manipulator of 'The American Way of Death'.