A Nurse on the Edge of the Desert

A Nurse on the Edge of the Desert

Author: Andrew Cameron

Publisher: Massey University Press

ISBN: 9780994141507

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 304

View: 550

International humanitarian-aid nurse and New Zealander Andrew Cameron is the winner of the coveted Florence Nightingale Medal. In this gripping book he recounts his remarkable life nursing in some of the world's most dangerous and challenging locations, including South Sudan, Yemen, Sierra Leone and Afghanistan. He also details his nursing career in some of Australia's most remote settlements, where anything can be waiting at the end of a long and dusty outback road: a major road accident, a suicide, a broken arm, a stabbing. With mordant humour, wisdom and insight, he recounts the challenges, excitements, and huge rewards of a nursing life.

A Nurse on the Edge of the Desert

A Nurse on the Edge of the Desert

Author: Andrew Cameron

Publisher: Massey University

ISBN: 0994140797

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 304

View: 787

"[Andrew Cameron recounts his] nursing in some of the world's most dangerous and challenging locations, including South Sudan, Yemen, Sierra Leone and Afghanistan. He also details his nursing career in some of Australia's most remote settlements, where anything can be waiting at the end of a long and dusty outback road: a major road accident, a suicide, a broken arm, a stabbing"--Back of print version

A Nurse's Courage

A Nurse's Courage

Author: Elizabeth Gill

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9781784292553

Category: Fiction

Page: 179

View: 730

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and The Singing Winds comes a story of family, destiny and one woman's difficult choice, perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Anna Jacobs and Ellie Dean. It is the late 1930s and war is looming. Iris Black falls deeply for the handsome Johnny Fenwick, but is devastated when she discovers his father manufactures armaments. Deeply conflicted, she resolves to leave Johnny and leave to train as a nurse. Johnny is so upset by this betrayal, and quickly marries Nan Fielding, an impoverished girl who has recently lost her father. Nan and her mother have been left with nothing but a big house and are in desperate financial trouble. Johnny wants to help, but can he ever forget the girl who left him behind?

A Nurse's Life in War and Peace

A Nurse's Life in War and Peace

Author: E. C. Laurence

Publisher: DigiCat

ISBN: EAN:8596547047834

Category: Medical

Page: 211

View: 348

This invaluable work presents a precise and simple account of a nurse's career. It discusses the difficulties they have to face and the problems they have to solve during wartime. Nurses play a crucial role in Hospitals. They interact with patients, understand them and take exceptional care of them and administer medicines. The successful partnership between a nurse and doctor brings the best outcomes for their patients. Therefore, it is essential to acknowledge their hard work and understand their duties and difficulties. Those who want to know something about a nurse's life and work will find this writing an unemotional, factual, and compelling narrative.

A Natural History of the Sonoran Desert

A Natural History of the Sonoran Desert

Author: Arizona-Sonora Desert Mus

Publisher: Univ of California Press

ISBN: 0520219805

Category: Nature

Page: 676

View: 501

"A Natural History of the Sonoran Desert provides the most complete collection of Sonoran Desert natural history information ever compiled and is a perfect introduction to this biologically rich desert of North America."--BOOK JACKET.

Clara at the Edge

Clara at the Edge

Author: Maryl Jo Fox

Publisher: She Writes Press

ISBN: 9781631522512

Category: Fiction

Page: 351

View: 720

At seventy-three, eccentric widow Clara Breckenridge is on a last-ditch journey to reconcile with her estranged son, finally confront the guilty secrets surrounding her daughter’s death, and maybe find love again before she dies miserable and alone. But Clara is her own worst enemy. Rigid and afraid of change, she has cocooned herself in her old house to escape from life. Magic purple wasps saved her as a child from an abusive father and they want to help her now, but wasps only live 120 days. Clara’s time is running out. When her beloved house is slated for demolition, she panics and persuades her son to haul the house from Eugene to Jackpot, Nevada, where Clara’s life is turned upside down by two troubled young people. Can the rowdy purple wasp, a spirit guide with surprising powers, help Clara confront her past and join life again or is it too late? Clara at the Edge is imaginative, eventful, sometimes funny and deeply moving.

The Leopard's Call

The Leopard's Call

Author: Reginald Shires

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 9781420828238

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 194

View: 135

Source Code for 2D and 3D Graphical Algorithms and Splines 2D Algorithms: Bresenham, Sutherland-Cohen Out-Codes, Seed Fill recursive, Cyrus-Beck, Sutherland-Hodgman 3D Transformations: Specifications for camera Euler angles and radius parameters, World coordinates to Center of Projection, Canonical with Perspective, Canonical with Parallel, Projections into 2D, pixels, and display 3D Curves and Splines: Hermite

That’S the Spirit

That’S the Spirit

Author: Bettie Linke

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN: 1453569081

Category: Humor

Page: 145

View: 639

Memoirs and happenings of life in central New Jersey begins in the 1930s drawing the reader to look at the good old days. The non-fiction stories show a picture of family living in the small town of Jamesburg. Included in the collection are innovative humorous chapters about the ever-loved situations of the Mr. and the Mrs., holiday pieces that introduce the Christmas Mouse and Mr. Snowman. These stories have delighted her faithful supporters for over 20 years. Many pieces include a Norwegian accent and an assortment of writing styles. Recalling the past proves nostalgia is worth saving, worth the surprise.

Bizarre

Bizarre

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: NYPL:33433081750386

Category:

Page:

View: 191

Arizona Goes to War

Arizona Goes to War

Author: Brad Melton

Publisher: University of Arizona Press

ISBN: 0816521905

Category: History

Page: 260

View: 666

Tells the stories of Arizonans who answered their country's call to fight in World War II, as well as the adventures of those on the home front.