Tales of the Wilderness

Tales of the Wilderness

Author: Boris Pilniak

Publisher: Good Press

ISBN: EAN:4064066213893

Category: Fiction

Page: 209

View: 636

"Tales of the Wilderness" by Boris Pilniak. Published by Good Press. Good Press publishes a wide range of titles that encompasses every genre. From well-known classics & literary fiction and non-fiction to forgotten−or yet undiscovered gems−of world literature, we issue the books that need to be read. Each Good Press edition has been meticulously edited and formatted to boost readability for all e-readers and devices. Our goal is to produce eBooks that are user-friendly and accessible to everyone in a high-quality digital format.

Scent

Scent

Author: K.R. Smith

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 9780646537306

Category: Fiction

Page: 716

View: 733

'Scent' is a delicious tail of a fiery relationship when at first the Last Circulator can't stand the tribe's sarcastic and most dangerous Werewolf, however their feelings change to a forbidden love. In a world where Shape Shifters differ culturally as well as physically; B Wisetail and Declan Sabre find not only passion but absolution in their bloodlust-fueled desires. The Lokoti call Circulators the 'Light People' because of their unique abilities coupled with their auras which Shape Shifters can see. Then bake in Alaska as a sanctuary after World War Three, garnish with differing species of Vampires, other breeds of Werewolves and marauding humans. Serves one.

Murder Afar

Murder Afar

Author: Selim Yenel

Publisher: Archway Publishing

ISBN: 9781480880665

Category: Fiction

Page: 350

View: 803

In this world, it is impossible to kill someone and get away with it, which is why it’s so stunning when not one but two murders occur. The killer left no evidence, and authorities are shocked. An emergency meeting is called as the Security Board investigates, but this case requires thinking outside the box—namely, bringing in an alien detective. Remi Strand is a man from Earth. He is recruited to this world where no one has been murdered in three centuries to try to make sense of an ineffable mystery. It Remi accepts the case, he will embark on a journey to an entirely different planet. Here, as an outsider, he needs all his wits about him. He must solve the impossible: how murder could have happened in a society seemingly “healed” of this universal horror. He pursues a brilliant killer, but Remi is no novice. In this place far from home, he will catch a criminal and hopefully make it back to Earth in one piece.

Popular Science

Popular Science

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 160

View: 817

Popular Science gives our readers the information and tools to improve their technology and their world. The core belief that Popular Science and our readers share: The future is going to be better, and science and technology are the driving forces that will help make it better.

For Once in My Life

For Once in My Life

Author: Colleen Coleman

Publisher: Bookouture

ISBN: 9781786814944

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 946

‘What an engaging story! I laughed out loud… Couldn’t put it down! You need to read this.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars Twenty-nine-year-old Lily Buckley planned to be happily married and in her dream job by now. Instead she’s been single since being left at the altar three years ago, and works at her local paper, writing about giant vegetables at the village fete and a dog who looks exactly like Chewbacca. Not quite what she was dreaming of. So when Lily’s given the opportunity to write her own column it’s exactly what she’s always wanted – except what she has to write about. She has to do one thing every week that scares her. With encouragement from sexy colleague – and adrenalin-junkie – Christopher, Lily agrees. From sky-diving to haunted houses, Lily is going to be pushed to her limit. And since heartbreak has left her afraid of falling in love again, her growing feelings for Christopher might just push her past it… But then her mum has a crisis, her column is the only thing keeping her – and her colleagues’ – jobs afloat, and Christopher’s ex arrives with her sights set on a romantic reunion. Suddenly jumping out of a plane is the least of Lily’s problems… Can she save her family, her friends, and her heart – or will Lily let her fears hold her back? An uplifting, feel-good story about friendship, romance, and finding the hero inside yourself. Fans of Marian Keyes, Mhairi McFarlane and Sophie Kinsella will love Colleen Coleman! What readers are saying about For Once in My Life: ‘Love, love, love this book… I absolutely adored it and devoured it in one sitting… So bloody funny. It will make you laugh until your belly hurts… It is beyond awesome, I freaking loved it.’ Chelle’s Book Reviews, 5 stars ‘OMG I loved it! It’s brilliant!!!… Hilariously relatable… Move over Beyoncé… Love the sass!’ The Writing Garnet, 5 stars ‘A five-star read that will make you get your bucket list written… The end blew me away… A fantastic read and one of my favourites by this author… This is definitely one of those reads you need in your life.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars ‘For Once in My Life had me feeling so many things!… I read this so quickly… I was dying to know how everything would end… This book had me feeling happy… I love reads that make you sit there with a smile on your face! … It was so fun going on this journey with Lily… I was rooting for her! This is a great read for taking on a holiday, or when you just want to feel all of the happy-butterflies in your tummy.’ Goodreads reviewer ‘Laugh out loud… The perfect chick-lit book.’ Pink and Dizzy ‘A wonderful read… The attraction between them was very real feeling… Fabulous humour… Perfect… A wonderful, fun-filled story.’ Jeannie Zelos, 5 stars ‘Made me laugh out loud… Such a wonderful, fun read. Would definitely recommend!’ NetGalley reviewer ‘What a gorgeous read!… I really enjoyed this and would really recommend it… I love the concept of bucket lists and Lily takes this and embraces it fully and through it changes her life. Great read!’ NetGalley reviewer ‘So enjoyable to read… One of my favourites of the year. A lot of what Lily said really resonated with me and made me really think!’ The Cosiest Corner, 5 stars ‘A very fun story… Lots of laughs.’ My Life as a Dog Bed ‘Romantic, fun… An enjoyable and easy read.’ The Suspended Step ‘Great fun… Would definitely recommend.’ Goodreads reviewer ‘A great read… I recommend this book.’ Obsessed With Fairy Tales ‘I laughed out loud and cried.’ Goodreads reviewer

Tainted Hero

Tainted Hero

Author: Michael Davis

Publisher: Michael W Davis

ISBN: 9781897445396

Category: Fiction

Page: 296

View: 304

As a decorated Army Ranger, Eric Emerson is honor bound to defend the helpless, and trained to survive against a ruthless enemy, yet these skills were useless to protect his family from a faulted legal system. Riddled with guilt, he's torn between his combat training and the rules governing society. The conflict shatters his marriage, his job, and his sanity, until Samantha Cassidy saves him from his anguish. Together, they unravel clues about a secretive Pentagon study and become targets from those determined to hide the truth. Sam and Eric share their secret past and disclose their feelings for each other. With Sam's help, Eric is able to vanquish the turmoil of his past, until he confronts Senator Robertson, sponsor of the Osiris study. The revelation about Osiris demands a horrific choice: ignore what they've found or become the seed that effects mankind's survival.

Led Zeppelin

Led Zeppelin

Author: Bob Spitz

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9780399562433

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 688

View: 314

From the author of the definitive New York Times bestselling history of the Beatles comes the authoritative account of the group many call the greatest rock band of all time, arguably the most successful, and certainly one of the most notorious Rock star. Whatever that term means to you, chances are it owes a debt to Led Zeppelin. No one before or since has lived the dream quite like Jimmy Page, Robert Plant, John Paul Jones, and John Bonham. In Led Zeppelin, Bob Spitz takes their full measure, separating the myth from the reality with his trademark connoisseurship and storytelling flair. From the opening notes of their first album, the band announced itself as something different, a collision of grand artistic ambition and brute primal force, of English folk music and African American blues. That record sold over 10 million copies, and it was just the beginning; Led Zeppelin's albums have sold over 300 million certified copies worldwide, and the dust has never settled. The band is notoriously guarded, and previous books provided more heat than light. But Spitz's authority is undeniable and irresistible. His feel for the atmosphere, the context--the music, the business, the recording studios, the touring life, the whole ecosystem of popular music--is unparalleled. His account of the melding of Page and Jones, the virtuosic London sophisticates, with Plant and Bonham, the wild men from the Midlands, in a scene dominated by the Beatles and the Stones but changing fast, is in itself a revelation. Spitz takes the music seriously and brings the band's artistic journey to full and vivid life. The music, however, is only part of the legend: Led Zeppelin is also the story of how the sixties became the seventies, of how playing clubs became playing stadiums, of how innocence became decadence. Led Zeppelin wasn't the first rock band to let loose on the road, but as with everything else, they took it to an entirely new level. Not all the legends are true, but in Spitz's careful accounting, what is true is astonishing and sometimes disturbing. Led Zeppelin gave no quarter, and neither has Bob Spitz. Led Zeppelin is the full and honest reckoning the band has long awaited, and richly deserves.