The Wizard and the Prophet

The Wizard and the Prophet

Author: Charles C. Mann

Publisher: Vintage

ISBN: 9780307961709

Category: Science

Page: 640

View: 186

From the best-selling, award-winning author of 1491 and 1493--an incisive portrait of the two little-known twentieth-century scientists, Norman Borlaug and William Vogt, whose diametrically opposed views shaped our ideas about the environment, laying the groundwork for how people in the twenty-first century will choose to live in tomorrow's world. In forty years, Earth's population will reach ten billion. Can our world support that? What kind of world will it be? Those answering these questions generally fall into two deeply divided groups--Wizards and Prophets, as Charles Mann calls them in this balanced, authoritative, nonpolemical new book. The Prophets, he explains, follow William Vogt, a founding environmentalist who believed that in using more than our planet has to give, our prosperity will lead us to ruin. Cut back! was his mantra. Otherwise everyone will lose! The Wizards are the heirs of Norman Borlaug, whose research, in effect, wrangled the world in service to our species to produce modern high-yield crops that then saved millions from starvation. Innovate! was Borlaug's cry. Only in that way can everyone win! Mann delves into these diverging viewpoints to assess the four great challenges humanity faces--food, water, energy, climate change--grounding each in historical context and weighing the options for the future. With our civilization on the line, the author's insightful analysis is an essential addition to the urgent conversation about how our children will fare on an increasingly crowded Earth.

The Wizard and the Prophet

The Wizard and the Prophet

Author: Charles C. Mann

Publisher: Picador

ISBN: 1509884181

Category: Environmental sciences

Page: 640

View: 673

Two Groundbreaking Scientists and Their Conflicting Visions of the Future of Our Planet'Does the earth's finite carrying capacity mean economic growth has to stop? That momentous question is the subject of Charles Mann's brilliant book.' Wall Street JournalIn forty years, the population of the Earth will reach ten billion. Can our world support so many people? What kind of world will it be? In this unique, original and important book, Charles C. Mann illuminates the four great challenges we face - food, water, energy, climate change - through an exploration of the crucial work and wide-ranging influence of two little-known twentieth-century scientists, Norman Borlaug and William Vogt.Vogt (the Prophet) was the intellectual forefather of the environmental movement, and believed that in our using more than the planet has to give, our prosperity will bring us to ruin. Borlaug's research in the 1950s led to the development of modern high-yield crops that have saved millions from starvation. The Wizard of Mann's title, he believed that science will continue to rise to the challenges we face.Mann tells the stories of these scientists and their crucial influence on today's debates as his story ranges from Mexico to India, across continents and oceans and from the past and the present to the future. Brilliantly original in concept, wryly observant and deeply researched, The Wizard and the Prophet is essential reading for readers of Yuval Noah Harari's Sapiens or Jared Diamond's Guns, Germs and Steel, for anyone interested in how we got here and in the future of our species.

The Wizard and the Prophet

The Wizard and the Prophet

Author: Charles C. Mann

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN: 9781509884193

Category: Nature

Page: 640

View: 891

Two Groundbreaking Scientists and Their Conflicting Visions of the Future of Our Planet 'Does the earth’s finite carrying capacity mean economic growth has to stop? That momentous question is the subject of Charles Mann’s brilliant book.' Wall Street Journal In forty years, the population of the Earth will reach ten billion. Can our world support so many people? What kind of world will it be? In this unique, original and important book, Charles C. Mann illuminates the four great challenges we face – food, water, energy, climate change – through an exploration of the crucial work and wide-ranging influence of two little-known twentieth-century scientists, Norman Borlaug and William Vogt. Vogt (the Prophet) was the intellectual forefather of the environmental movement, and believed that in our using more than the planet has to give, our prosperity will bring us to ruin. Borlaug’s research in the 1950s led to the development of modern high-yield crops that have saved millions from starvation. The Wizard of Mann’s title, he believed that science will continue to rise to the challenges we face. Mann tells the stories of these scientists and their crucial influence on today’s debates as his story ranges from Mexico to India, across continents and oceans and from the past and the present to the future. Brilliantly original in concept, wryly observant and deeply researched, The Wizard and the Prophet is essential reading for readers of Yuval Noah Harari’s Sapiens or Jared Diamond’s Guns, Germs and Steel, for anyone interested in how we got here and in the future of our species.

The Wizard and the Prophet

The Wizard and the Prophet

Author: John W. Cane

Publisher:

ISBN: 0997594489

Category:

Page: 85

View: 248

Summary of "The Wizard and the Prophet" by Charle C. Mann, intended to highlight important parts of the full volume.

Another End of the World is Possible

Another End of the World is Possible

Author: John Halstead

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 9780359765102

Category:

Page: 110

View: 880

In these essays, activist and author, John Halstead, takes us from a 2016 environmental protest at a Midwestern tar sands refinery to a mid-20th century Mexican cornfield stricken with blight to a bloody sacrifice to the Mother Goddess in ancient Rome, and from ancient pagan myths to the latest superhero movies to speculative fiction about a biocentric community of the future. In so doing, he explores the intersection of climate change and capitalism, hope and despair, death and denial, hubris and hero myths, love and limitations, popular culture and storytelling, and what it would really mean for our relationship with the natural world if we were to admit that we are doomed.

The Wizard and the Prophet: Annotated Summary

The Wizard and the Prophet: Annotated Summary

Author: John Cane

Publisher: Enw International Corporation

ISBN: 1733537309

Category: Nature

Page: 62

View: 997

Summary of 'the Wizard and th Prophet' by Charles C. man, the purpose of which is to alert humankind about issues concerning impending population growth from today's 4 billion people to about 10 billion in 2050 AD

The uncivilized races of men in all countries of the world

The uncivilized races of men in all countries of the world

Author: J.G. Wood

Publisher: Рипол Классик

ISBN: 9785878634595

Category: History

Page:

View: 522

The uncivilized races of men in all countries of the world: being a comprehensive account of their manners and customs, and of their physical, social, mental, moral and religious characteristics.

Numbers

Numbers

Author: Rayner Winterbotham

Publisher:

ISBN: UVA:X030809201

Category: Bible

Page: 461

View: 536