A Nurse on the Edge of the Desert

A Nurse on the Edge of the Desert

Author: Andrew Cameron

Publisher: Massey University Press

ISBN: 9780994141507

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 304

View: 766

International humanitarian-aid nurse and New Zealander Andrew Cameron is the winner of the coveted Florence Nightingale Medal. In this gripping book he recounts his remarkable life nursing in some of the world's most dangerous and challenging locations, including South Sudan, Yemen, Sierra Leone and Afghanistan. He also details his nursing career in some of Australia's most remote settlements, where anything can be waiting at the end of a long and dusty outback road: a major road accident, a suicide, a broken arm, a stabbing. With mordant humour, wisdom and insight, he recounts the challenges, excitements, and huge rewards of a nursing life.

A Nurse on the Edge of the Desert

A Nurse on the Edge of the Desert

Author: Andrew Cameron

Publisher: Massey University

ISBN: 0994140797

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 304

View: 995

"[Andrew Cameron recounts his] nursing in some of the world's most dangerous and challenging locations, including South Sudan, Yemen, Sierra Leone and Afghanistan. He also details his nursing career in some of Australia's most remote settlements, where anything can be waiting at the end of a long and dusty outback road: a major road accident, a suicide, a broken arm, a stabbing"--Back of print version

A Nurse's Courage

A Nurse's Courage

Author: Elizabeth Gill

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9781784292553

Category: Fiction

Page: 179

View: 333

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and The Singing Winds comes a story of family, destiny and one woman's difficult choice, perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Anna Jacobs and Ellie Dean. It is the late 1930s and war is looming. Iris Black falls deeply for the handsome Johnny Fenwick, but is devastated when she discovers his father manufactures armaments. Deeply conflicted, she resolves to leave Johnny and leave to train as a nurse. Johnny is so upset by this betrayal, and quickly marries Nan Fielding, an impoverished girl who has recently lost her father. Nan and her mother have been left with nothing but a big house and are in desperate financial trouble. Johnny wants to help, but can he ever forget the girl who left him behind?

A Nurse's Life in War and Peace

A Nurse's Life in War and Peace

Author: E. C. Laurence

Publisher: DigiCat

ISBN: EAN:8596547047834

Category: Medical

Page: 211

View: 943

This invaluable work presents a precise and simple account of a nurse's career. It discusses the difficulties they have to face and the problems they have to solve during wartime. Nurses play a crucial role in Hospitals. They interact with patients, understand them and take exceptional care of them and administer medicines. The successful partnership between a nurse and doctor brings the best outcomes for their patients. Therefore, it is essential to acknowledge their hard work and understand their duties and difficulties. Those who want to know something about a nurse's life and work will find this writing an unemotional, factual, and compelling narrative.

The Leopard's Call

The Leopard's Call

Author: Reginald Shires

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 9781420828238

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 178

View: 549

Source Code for 2D and 3D Graphical Algorithms and Splines 2D Algorithms: Bresenham, Sutherland-Cohen Out-Codes, Seed Fill recursive, Cyrus-Beck, Sutherland-Hodgman 3D Transformations: Specifications for camera Euler angles and radius parameters, World coordinates to Center of Projection, Canonical with Perspective, Canonical with Parallel, Projections into 2D, pixels, and display 3D Curves and Splines: Hermite

That’S the Spirit

That’S the Spirit

Author: Bettie Linke

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN: 1453569081

Category: Humor

Page: 145

View: 721

Memoirs and happenings of life in central New Jersey begins in the 1930s drawing the reader to look at the good old days. The non-fiction stories show a picture of family living in the small town of Jamesburg. Included in the collection are innovative humorous chapters about the ever-loved situations of the Mr. and the Mrs., holiday pieces that introduce the Christmas Mouse and Mr. Snowman. These stories have delighted her faithful supporters for over 20 years. Many pieces include a Norwegian accent and an assortment of writing styles. Recalling the past proves nostalgia is worth saving, worth the surprise.

A Lady Cyclist's Guide to Kashgar

A Lady Cyclist's Guide to Kashgar

Author: Suzanne Joinson

Publisher: A&C Black

ISBN: 9781408825143

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 384

An extraordinary story of inheritance, belonging and the stories that bind us to our past, set in modern-day London and 1920s Kashgar.

Clara at the Edge

Clara at the Edge

Author: Maryl Jo Fox

Publisher: She Writes Press

ISBN: 9781631522512

Category: Fiction

Page: 351

View: 959

At seventy-three, eccentric widow Clara Breckenridge is on a last-ditch journey to reconcile with her estranged son, finally confront the guilty secrets surrounding her daughter’s death, and maybe find love again before she dies miserable and alone. But Clara is her own worst enemy. Rigid and afraid of change, she has cocooned herself in her old house to escape from life. Magic purple wasps saved her as a child from an abusive father and they want to help her now, but wasps only live 120 days. Clara’s time is running out. When her beloved house is slated for demolition, she panics and persuades her son to haul the house from Eugene to Jackpot, Nevada, where Clara’s life is turned upside down by two troubled young people. Can the rowdy purple wasp, a spirit guide with surprising powers, help Clara confront her past and join life again or is it too late? Clara at the Edge is imaginative, eventful, sometimes funny and deeply moving.

Bizarre

Bizarre

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: NYPL:33433081750386

Category:

Page:

View: 493

Desert Guards

Desert Guards

Author: Holley Trent

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781507200087

Category: Fiction

Page: 1574

View: 785

Meet three alpha were-cougars and their spirited, sass-spouting soulmates in this shifter romance bundle. Spells, hexes, and curses won't stop these strong, sexy desert guards from finding love at long last. The Cougar's Pawn: Ellery Colvard escapes her perfectly organized life for a camping trip with her friends, hoping for a tiny thrill. Instead, she gets carried away--literally--by alpha were-cougar Mason Foye, who needs a mate to avoid his fate. But Ellery has some witchy ways, too, and she isn't buying into his life story. The clock is ticking as Mason struggles to keep his son, his family, and the woman he's already fallen head over heels for. The Cougar's Trade: Hank Foye has his eyes set on a brash looker as the mate to help him avoid being cursed to live as a cougar for the rest of his life, but instead fate chooses quiet nurse Miles Bennett. When he gets stuck playing bodyguard to the gal who brings his long-repressed passions roaring to life, he must decide if Miles is a mate strong enough to go the distance with him. The Cougar's Bargain: Hannah Welch doomed were-cougar Sean Foye to spend the rest of his life in his animal form when she refused to accept him as a mate. But an attack at the Foyes' New Mexico ranch ended with Hannah becoming a cougar, too. She strikes a bargain with the goddess who cursed him: Sean will be freed from his furry affliction if Hannah can find him a more suitable mate. But will she be able to give him up? The Cougar's Wish: Former soldier Steven Welch has been tasked with keeping Belle Foye away from a dangerous hellmouth at all costs. Not only is Belle a bit young in his world-weary opinion, but sticking close to her means he has no choice but to confront a fear of the supernatural he'd hoped he left in the Afghan desert. Will Steven's fears and stubbornness cause Belle to lose her fated mate and the one man she's ever trusted enough to call "partner"? Sensuality Level: Sensual