Forever Paris

Forever Paris

Author: Christina Henry de Tessan

Publisher: Chronicle Books

ISBN: 9781452104881

Category: Photography

Page: 108

View: 548

Take a stroll through Édith Piaf's Belleville, dine at Napoléon's favorite restaurant, and explore the late-night haunts of Ernest Hemingway, Josephine Baker, and Pablo Picasso. From the author of the best-selling City Walks: Paris deck, this lively collection of walking adventures follows in the footsteps of more than 25 of the city's iconic former residents. Throughout, Paris is seen from the intimate vantage point of those who loved it best, from the bars where authors penned classic works to the markets and patisseries where food lovers indulged. Including photos and full-color maps throughout, each walk in this book guides visitors and locals through the city that inspired some of the world's most famous artists, writers, chefs, musicians, politicians, and more.

Michael Jackson

Michael Jackson

Author: Shawn Henning

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 9781496911278

Category: Art

Page: 236

View: 120

Shawn Henning’s new book is a powerful and overwhelming tribute and legacy to Michael Jackson. In one book, he’s collected love letters, reflections, eulogies, poems, essays and drawings from people throughout the world who have a special appreciation for the King of Pop, Michael Jackson. I was particularly impressed at the diversity of material, from so many different countries and cultures – all of it heartfelt and illuminating. In We Love You More, we learn about the many different ways that Michael Jackson affected people from all walks of life. The participants talk about how Michael’s music, creativity and pubic example affected their lives and helped them to be better people. The contributions are a wonderful cathartic output to help to come to terms with the loss of Michael’s huge talent. They will not only comfort those who have written them, but those who read them. People will learn about the experiences they have in common, with people throughout the world, who followed Michael’s career, his music, his good deeds and the example he set for this generation and generations to come. The book will also be of comfort to Michael’s own family. They will see that the spirit of Michael will continue in people everywhere and in many ways and for many reasons. It’s also fascinating to learn what people have to say about different songs and what they meant to their lives. I’m impressed by the diverse elements in the book... from eulogies, to memories to poems and beautiful drawings and paintings and even photo montages at the end. Mr. Henning... you’ve done a wonderful service to the Michael Jackson fan community and I commend you. Sincerely yours, Larry Nimmer

Women's Writing in Twenty-First-Century France

Women's Writing in Twenty-First-Century France

Author: Amaleena Damlé

Publisher: University of Wales Press

ISBN: 9781783160419

Category: Literary Criticism

Page:

View: 550

Women’s Writing in Twenty-First Century France is a collection of critical essays on recent women-authored literature in France. It takes stock of the themes, issues and trends in women’s writing of the first decade of the twenty-first century, and it engages critically with the work of individual authors through close textual readings. Authors covered include major prizewinners, best-selling authors, established and new writers whose work attracts scholarly attention, including those whose texts have been translated into English such as Christine Angot, Nina Bouraoui, Marie Darrieussecq as Chloé Delaume, Claudie Gallay and Anna Gavalda. Themes include translation, popular fiction, society, history, war, family relations, violence, trauma, the body, racial identity, sexual identity, feminism, life-writing and textual/aesthetic experiments.

Bel Air

Bel Air

Author: Katherine Stone

Publisher: Katherine Stone

ISBN:

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 460

View: 593

All that glitters isn't gold . . . sometimes it's love. In the lush, sun-bright splendor of southern California, three women, three friends, search for the courage to dream, to trust, to love. But there are dark secrets and hidden betrayals that must first be overcome. A terrible accident has stolen Allison Fitzgerald’s dreams, and it has taught her that life is too precious—and too fragile—to waste. So when she meets a man who evokes a passion in her that she has never known before, she surrenders to his love without questioning his secretive past. Gifted and beautiful actress Winter Carlyle has learned, from painful experience, that the people she loves always leave her, and that it is far too dangerous to care, and that she is only liked when she is pretending to be someone she is not. Still, she is willing to risk everything for the doctor who sees beyond the pretense . . . But is he willing to risk everything for her? Emily Rousseau only feels safe, only feels free, when she is behind the lens of her camera, safe and free from the men who want her, and want to hurt her. The portraits she takes are works of art, and there is one man, unlike any other man she has ever known, who sees not only the talent in her work, but the loveliness in her. But can she accept the love, and face the demons, that will free her from her past? Praise for the novels of Katherine Stone: “Remarkably romantic and thoroughly enchanting.”—Rendezvous on Pearl Moon “Poignant . . . Cass is an intrepid heroine, but it is Chase who wins our hearts when he refuses to allow Cass’s seeming betrayal to stop him from protecting his beloved.” —Midwest Book Review on Bed of Roses “Fairytale elements mix with those of a present day romance for . . . thoroughly enjoyable results.”—Kirkus Reviews on Rainbows “With this tightly woven, suspenseful plot, peopled with memorable characters, Stone has produced another surefire hit.”—Booklist on Imagine Love “Sweeping drama . . . Her most emotionally charged and intricate story of love yet.”—Romantic Times on Imagine Love “Alluring . . . Fascinating . . . Each page brings a new adventure, every plot twist another question begging to be answered.”—Rendezvous on Imagine Love Katherine Stone writes “in the vein of Danielle Steel and Sandra Brown”—Library Journal Katherine Stone's "high quality romance ranks right up there with Nora Roberts."—Booklist

Days of Danger

Days of Danger

Author: John Creasey

Publisher: Ipso Books

ISBN: 9781504053495

Category: Fiction

Page: 298

View: 550

Three men meet on the outskirts of London to hatch a plan to steal the wealth of a nation in this thriller by an Edgar Award–winning author. They are three ordinary-seeming men—one fat, one tall, one thin. But their goal is anything but ordinary, and they have no regard for the chaos and horror that will be unleashed in the process. Once their plan is put into action, the death toll will rise and rise . . . It is up to Department Z’s Gordon Craigie to put a stop to these powerful and ruthless men. His only clue is a mysterious diamond-shaped card. It is on this small lead that the fate of Department Z—the ace detectives within British intelligence—hinges. But with the life of Craigie’s top agent Toby Arran now on the line, this one clue may not be enough.

Dearly Departed

Dearly Departed

Author: Heather Novak

Publisher: Tule Publishing

ISBN: 9781957748887

Category: Fiction

Page: 277

View: 434

Who would you betray to save a life? Medium Eliza Robinson will do anything for her daughter, including working on a confidential investigation at the Supernatural Human Accountability Partnership agency with her ex—the person who killed her fiancé, Ben. She’s desperate to find out the truth about Ben’s past and what really happened the night he died, and she won’t let anyone stand in her way. Her daughter’s life depends on it. Paris Evans knows Eliza will never forgive her role in Ben’s death, but has vowed to protect Eliza and her daughter at all costs. She can’t let anyone learn the truth about what happened that night, or who Ben really was. Not when so many lives—including her twin’s—hang in the balance. As the investigation heats up, it reignites the fire between Eliza and Paris. These two powerful psychics—one who can communicate with the dead via letters and the other who has prophetic dreams—will risk everything to protect their loved ones and discover the traitor…even as Paris’s visions warn there may be no happy ending to their mission.