The Deepest Well

The Deepest Well

Author: Nadine Burke Harris

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN: 9780544828704

Category: FAMILY & RELATIONSHIPS

Page: 251

View: 567

A pioneering physician reveals how childhood stress leads to lifelong health problems, and what we can do to break the cycle.

The Deepest Well

The Deepest Well

Author: Juliette Cross

Publisher: Entangled: Select Otherworld

ISBN: 9781640632202

Category: Fiction

Page: 312

View: 987

The same night Lady Katherine Blakely discovers just what a monster her husband is, she meets a charming stranger, a gentleman from top to toe, not a wolf in gallant evening dress as so many of them are. But even he is not all that he seems. Lord George Draconis Thornton has returned from abroad as Earl of Melbourne. As the commander of the Dominus Daemonum, demon hunters set on earth to purge the world of creatures corrupting mankind, his mission is to expel the demon prince, Damas, back to the underworld before he corrupts his last remaining descendant. But a golden-haired beauty derails his plans. Determined to save her from an abusive marriage, he loses his way. And the price for his failure will be the greatest loss he has felt in all the centuries he has lived on earth. Each book in the Dominion series is STANDALONE: * The Deepest Well (prequel) * Darkest Heart * Hardest Fall * Coldest Fire

From the Deepest Well

From the Deepest Well

Author: Stanley Schmidt

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 9781665551557

Category: Poetry

Page: 258

View: 716

This book is a memoir that covers decades. It goes from the dark times to the light at the end of the tunnel, and all the stuff in between. There are graphic word pictures and utter transparency about what the author has lived and written about. He hopes this book will help others in their journey through the difficult times.

Summary of Nadine Burke Harris's The Deepest Well

Summary of Nadine Burke Harris's The Deepest Well

Author: Swift Reads

Publisher: Swift Books LLC

ISBN:

Category: Family & Relationships

Page:

View: 703

Buy now to get the insights from Nadine Burke Harris's The Deepest Well. Sample Insights: 1) Nadine Burke Harris, a pediatrician, was running a free clinic in a poor neighborhood in San Francisco when she realized there was a harrowing connection between trauma and medical problems for her child patients. 2) It has been widely documented that poor communities lead to poor health.

Summary of the Deepest Well by Nadine Burke Harris: Conversation Starters

Summary of the Deepest Well by Nadine Burke Harris: Conversation Starters

Author: Bookhabits

Publisher: Blurb

ISBN: 1388729210

Category: Education

Page: 68

View: 821

The Deepest Well by Nadine Burke Harris: Conversation Starters "The Deepest Well" is the culmination of Dr. Nadine Burke Harris' extensive research in and experiences with how childhood trauma effects brain development and can lead to health issues even into adulthood. But "The Deepest Well" is so much more than a scientist's discoveries. It's the personal journey Harris has to take-filled with frustrations, insights, and discovery-as one human trying to help the lives of her fellow humans. "The Deepest Well" has been given the high rating of 5 stars on Amazon. It has received acclaim from several authors and Kirkus Reviews calls this book "important and compassionate" A Brief Look Inside: EVERY GOOD BOOK CONTAINS A WORLD FAR DEEPER than the surface of its pages. The characters and their world come alive, and the characters and its world still live on. Conversation Starters is peppered with questions designed to bring us beneath the surface of the page and invite us into the world that lives on. These questions can be used to... Create Hours of Conversation: - Promote an atmosphere of discussion for groups - Foster a deeper understanding of the book - Assist in the study of the book, either individually or corporately - Explore unseen realms of the book as never seen before Disclaimer: This book you are about to enjoy is an independent resource meant to supplement the original book. If you have not yet read the original book, we encourage you to before purchasing this unofficial Conversation Starters.

Stars in the Deepest Night

Stars in the Deepest Night

Author: Genesse Bourdean Gentry

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 9781469765099

Category: Poetry

Page: 104

View: 525

i>Stars in the Deepest Night is a collection of poetry in which a bereaved parent describes the convoluted nightmare, isolation and transformation of grief after the death of a child. This book will be read and reread by bereaved parents and is a must for the families and friends who love them.

Toxic Childhood Stress

Toxic Childhood Stress

Author: Dr Nadine Burke Harris

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN: 9781529056877

Category: Psychology

Page: 272

View: 830

*Previously published as The Deepest Well* ‘Finally after thirty years, I finally understood . . . this book holds the answers you’ve been searching for.’ Kerry Hudson The Surgeon General of California reveals pioneering research on how childhood stress leads to lifelong health problems and what we can do to break the cycle. Perfect for fans of The Body Keeps the Score by Bessel van der Kolk, this eye-opening book includes a free Adverse Childhood Experience test and looks at the widespread crisis of trauma and childhood adversity through the objective lens of science and medicine, providing a roadmap for deeper understanding and change. It is vital now more than ever, as a result of the Coronavirus pandemic, that we find a way to address, understand and heal trauma. Two thirds of us have experienced at least one adverse childhood experience, from the likes of bereavement and divorce to abuse and neglect. In Toxic Childhood Stress Dr Burke Harris reveals the science behind childhood adversity and offers a new way of understanding the adverse events that affect us throughout our lifetime. Based on her own groundbreaking clinical work and public leadership, Dr Burke Harris shows us how we can disrupt this cycle through interventions that help retrain the brain and body, foster resilience, and help children, families, and adults live healthier, happier lives. When a young boy walked into Dr Nadine Burke Harris's clinic he looked healthy for a preschooler. But he was seven, and hadn't grown a centimetre since a traumatic event when he was four. At that moment Dr Burke Harris knew that her gut feeling about a connection between childhood stress and future ill health was more than just a hunch – and she began her journey into groundbreaking research with stunning results.